Woodthorpe Church of England Primary School

Learning & Growing Together To Be The Best We Can Be

Protected Characteristics

Promoting the Protected Characteristics at

Woodthorpe Church of England Primary School 

We work to ensure that our children understand that:

  • There are no outsiders at Woodthorpe Church of England School
  • Everyone is different
  • We celebrate our differences
  • We are all equal in our differences

We achieve this by regularly talking about the protected characteristics in an age appropriate way, discussing what they mean to everyone in Britain. We encourage words such as discrimination, inclusion and equality,

Child friendly displays are found around school to raise awareness of the protected characteristics. 

The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. Everyone in Britain is protected. This is because the Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics that we all have. Under the Equality Act, there are nine Protected Characteristics:

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity

At Woodthorpe Church of England Primary School, we actively promote these in our curriculum and work to embed them into our ethos.

Under the Equality Act you are protected from discrimination:

  • When you are in the workplace
  • When you use public services like healthcare (for example, visiting your doctor or local hospital) or education (for example, at your school or college)
  • When you use businesses and other organisations that provide services and goods (like shops, restaurants, and cinemas)
  • When you use transport
  • When you join a club or association (for example, your local rugby club)
  • When you have contact with public bodies like your local council or government departments