Woodthorpe Church of England Primary School

Learning & Growing Together To Be The Best We Can Be


Welcome to our website! .

Please find below details of how our Governing Body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

If a parent or carer has a concern about their child, or the school generally, they should take it up in the first instance with their class teacher or headteacher as appropriate.  If your concerns are not met, I can be contacted on governors@woodthorpe.derbyshire.sch.uk

It is a pleasure to contribute to the life and wellbeing of this happy Church of England Primary School.

Our Governors  2023/2024

Name Governor Type Term From Term To
Sue Beckett Trust governor 07 Jan 2020 6 Jan 2028
Annabel Eades Trust governor 01 Oct 2022 30 Sep 2026
Mrs Emma Gilberthorpe Trust governor 23 May 2022 22 May 2026
Fr Stephen Jones Trust governor 18 Apr 2022 17 Apr 2026
Mrs Nicky Trundell Staff governor 01 Sep 2023 31 Aug 2027
Mr Matt Loader Executive Headteacher  01 Jan 2024  
Sarah Turner Parent governor 05 Sep 2022 4 Sep 2026
Non governors 
Mrs Emma Sheedy Clerk
Mr Mathew Windsor  Head of School 

Historical governors

Mr John Capper

Ms Sarah Tew


Trust Governor and Chair

Executive Headteacher


14 Oct 2019

14 Oct 2019


31 Dec 2023

31 Dec 2023

Mrs Elaine Tidd Trust governor 9 Oct 2018 8 Oct 2022
Mrs Sian Woodcock Parent governor 20 Nov 2019 21 07 2022
Sam Ridley-Wallace Parent governor 9 Oct 2020 1 Jan 2024

Please click here for governor attendance 2021/22.

Please click here for governor attendance 2022/23.

Please click here for Declarations of interest 2023 - 2024

Our Governors

We are very fortunate to have a committed and dedicated team of Governors. Their role is crucial in the continuing success and development of Woodthorpe C of E (VC) Primary School.

The law states that the purpose of governing bodies in our type of school, is to “conduct the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement at the school” (Section 21(2) Education Act 2002).

In practice this means we have six core functions:

  1. Strategic leadership that sets and champions vision, ethos and strategy
  2. Accountability that drives up educational standards and financial performance
  3. People with the right skills, experience, qualities and capacity
  4. Structures that reinforce clearly defined roles and responsibilities
  5. Compliance with statutory and contractual requirements
  6. Evaluation to monitor and improve the quality and impact of governance

More information can be found in The Academies Handbook 2022 from the DfE.

Minutes of the Local Governing Body meetings are available upon request from the school office or by emailing info@woodthorpe.derbyshire.sch.uk

On conversion to an Academy in June 2019, the Governors at Woodthorpe C of E (VC) Primary School agreed to restructure the way that they work. This means that:

  • Woodthorpe C of E (VC) Primary School’s Full Governing Body now meet every half term with no sub-committee meetings being held. Items discussed previously at sub-committee level are now tabled at Full Governing Body meetings.  This enables all Governors to get a full, strategic view of the School’s work so they can better support and challenge.
  • Governor are warmly invited to visit the School and visit the classes, working alongside the children, staff and senior leaders.
  • Link Governors work alongside the School and closely monitor their key areas to ensure that our children’s progress is closely monitored, supported and challenged.


Governor Specialisms 

Governors have specialist areas also: 

Link Governor Role

Name of Governor allocated

Lead staff member 

Safeguarding (Statutory)

Sue Beckett

Mathew Windsor and Nicky Trundell

SEND (Statutory) 

Annabel Eades

Mathew Windsor and Catherine May 

Church school effectiveness

Sue Beckett 

Rachel Turner

Pupil premium 

Sue Beckett

Helen Walsh

Sports premium 

Sarah Turner

Victoria Lonergan

Health and safety (and premises)

Emma Gilberthorpe

Claire Millington

Website compliance 

Annabel Eades - Emma Sheedy to support

Mathew Windsor


Sarah Turner

Nicola Trundell 

Staff well-being and Equality Lead Governor

Emma Gilberthorpe 

Matt Loader


Sue Beckett

Nicky Trundell


Annabel Eades

Mathew Windsor and Catherine May 


Emma Gilberthorpe

Claire Millington


Sue Beckett

Libby Allen and Mathew Windsor 

EYFS and Early reading 

Emma Gilberthorpe 

Rachel Turner, Helen Walsh/Victoria Lonergan 


Sue Beckett

Mathew Windsor and Rachel Turner


Father Stephen Jones

Rachel Turner

Performance management 

Sue Beckett

Matt Loader/Mathew Windsor

Extra curricular and enhancement 

Father Stephen Jones

Mathew Windsor 


Policies, set out in a clear way, form the framework within which our school operates. The monitoring of school policies is the responsibility of the Full Governing Body; this is the time for Governors to develop their strategic role, planning, monitoring and reviewing school progress. Policies are available for parents via the School Office or on the policy page of this website.